Welcome to the Student Wind Orchestra of the University of Twente.

At this website, you can find all information about the orchestra and the upcoming performances.

You also might want to take a look at the SHOT Ensemble and its marching band Tohuwabohu!

Follow us

  • qxio-social-instagram
  • qxif-twitter-square
  • qxio-social-linkedin
  • qxif-facebook-square

About us

SHOT is the student wind orchestra of the University of Twente. The orchestra counts around 65 students of the university and surrounding applied universities. The orchestra was founded in 1991 and is conducted by Ronny Buurink.


Become a member

It is good to see that you are interested in becoming a member of SHOT! You are very welcome to visit (one of) our rehearsals.

Become a benefactor

The organization of multiple concerts and activities is partly made possible by the financial support of benefactora.


SHOT has her own marching band called Tohuwabohu. Take a look at the Tohuwabohu page for more information about the band and bookings.


An ensemble consists of a small group of musicians from the orchestra who can offer a musical addition to your party or any other event.


  • Fall Concert 2022

    SHOT has given another Fall Concert on the 1st of December. It was a great success, thanks to a great audience!

  • Concert trip 2022!
    After 4 years, it was finally time for SHOT to go abroad. This year, we went to Munich and Florence.

    We explored the cities at day time. The evenings were spent in parks, Biergartens and Irish Pubs. We gave both planned as well as spontaneous concerts. We finished off with the amazing Toscana Music Festival!

    We have truly had a wonderful time together and look forward to our next trip abroad. Especially thanks to Aron and Jesse, we have some great photo’s to remember this trip by. Also a big thank you to our sponsors: Moneybird and Meester van de Brink!
  • SHOT/SOLO lustrumconcert
    The SHOT/SOLO lustrumconcert took place on the 24th of April. It turned out to be a wonderful afternoon!

    Before the break, SHOT played, among others, the Fourth Symphony by Alfred Reed and Carmesina, by Manuel Moralez Martínez. Also, the first 30 days of a post-pandemic world by Euripides Dionysiadis was played; a piece composed especially for the 30th lustrum. These and the other pieces can be listened to on SHOTs YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/StudHarmOrkTwente

    After the break, SOLO, the SHOT Old Members Orchestra, performed. They played, among others, Armenian Dances part 1 by Alfred Reed and Summon the heroes by John Williams.
  • Phil Collins Collection online!

    The online covers are back! As part of our lustrum video, we all recorded our parts of the Phil Collins Collection and this is the end result. Enjoy!

    Special thanks to Arnout Franken for editing the video and Aron Boerkamp for editing the audio!



  • Try-out Concert 2023

    Leading up to the ONHK, SHOT will give a concert together with Koninklijke Harmonie St. Joseph from Oldenzaal. Here SHOT will play the work for the ONHK, The Spell. The concert will take place on March 24, 2023, at Het Bonhoeffer College, Van der Waalslaan 35 in Enschede. Tickets are available via sales. We hope to see you there!

  • ONHK 2023

    Over the past few months SHOT has been busy preparing for the Open Dutch Harmony Championships (ONHK). These will take place on April 1 in Barneveld. SHOT will participate in the 1st division and will perform "The Spell" by Oliver Waesapi.


Studenten Harmonie Orkest Twente

Vrijhof Cultuurcentrum

Postbus 217

7500 AE Enschede 

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.